to mumtaaj by her beloved mughal emperor Shahjahaan

jo baat tujh me.n hai,
THE STUFF YOU’VE IN YOU
teree tasweer me.n nahee.n,
IS MISSING FROM YOUR PICTURE,

tasweer me.n nahee.n,
IS MISSING IN THE PICTURE,

jo baat tujh me.n hai…
THE STUFF YOU’VE IN YOU…

rango.n me.n teraa, aks Dhalaa, tuu naa Dhal sakee,
THE COLOURS CAPTURED YOUR REFLECTION, NOT YOU!

saanson kee aanch, jism kee Khushboo, naa dhal sakee,
WARM BREATHS, BODY’S FRAGRANCE, COULDN’T BE CAST,

tujh me.n…
IN YOU…

tujh me.n jo loch hai meree, tehreer me.n nahee.n,
IN YOU THE FLOURISH THAT’S THERE, IS MISSING FROM MY STROKES,

tahreer me.n nahee.n,
MISSING FROM THE STROKES,

jo baat tujh me.n hai,
THE STUFF YOU’VE IN YOU

teree tasweer me.n nahee.n,
IS MISSING FROM YOUR PICTURE,

tasweer me.n nahee.n…
MISSING IN THE PICTURE…

bejaan husn me.n kahaa.n, raftaar kee adaa,
WHERE’S THE ANIMATED GRACE IN THE LIFELESS BEAUTY!

inkaar kee adaa hai, naa iqraar kee adaa,
THERE’S NEITHER THE ACTION OF REFUSAL NOR OF AFFIRMATION!

koee…
ANY…

koee lachak bhee zulf-e-giraah, geer me.n nahee.n,
NOR IN THE ENTICING KNOTS OF CURL THERE’S ANY SPRINGINESS,

giraah geer me.n nahee.n,
NOR IN THE ENTICING KNOTS…

jo baat tujh me.n hai,
THE STUFF YOU’VE IN YOU

teree tasweer me.n nahee.n,
IS MISSING FROM YOUR PICTURE,

tasweer me.n nahee.n,
MISSING IN THE PICTURE…

dunyaa me.n koee, cheez nahee.n, hai teree taraah,
THERE’S NOTHING IN THE WORLD LIKE UNTO YOU,

phir ek baar, saamne aajaa, kisee taraah,
MATERIALISE BEFORE ME SOME HOW ONCE MORE,

kyaa aur,
WHAT! ANOTHER….

kyaa aur ik jhalak meree, taqdeer me.n nahee.n,
WHAT! AM I NOT FATED TO HAVE ANOTHER GLIMPSE?

taqdeer me.n nahee.n…
AM I NOT FATED….

jo baat tujh me.n hai,
THE STUFF YOU’VE IN YOU

teree tasweer me.n nahee.n,
IS MISSING FROM YOUR PICTURE,

tasweer me.n nahee.n,
MISSING IN THE PICTURE,

jo baat tujh me.n hai.
WHAT YOU’VE IN YOU.

(NASIR.)

*no great artist ever sees things as they really are. If he did, he would cease to be an artist.’
Oscar Wilde.
*taken from movie’Tajmahal’.

3 .9. 2016

2 thoughts on “to mumtaaj by her beloved mughal emperor Shahjahaan

Leave a Reply

